MM Keeravani, Raveena Tandon Honoured With India’s 4th Highest Civilian Award, The Padma Shri

Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan, the Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri are the four coveted awards of the Republic of India bestowed on individuals for their commendable contributions to the country in various areas.

This year, around 52 awardees were honoured (two Padma Vibhushan, five Padma Bhushan, and 45 Padma Shri) yesterday after President Of India Droupadi Murmu approved 106 Padma Awards on the eve of this year’s Republic Day.

Image Source

Among the many innovators, politicians, scientists, social workers, philanthropists, and more, there were two fan favourites from the entertainment industry who received the fourth-highest civilian award, the Padma Shri, from the hands of the President at a function held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Bollywood actor Raveena Tandon was reportedly conferred with the Padma Shri in the field of art.

“A versatile actor, she has given several award-winning performances. She is also a philanthropist and environmentalist,” wrote the official Twitter account of the President Of India.

Veteran music composer, singer, and lyricist, Marakathamani Keeravaani, AKA M.M. Keeravani also received the same award for his work in Telugu, Tamil, Malayalam, Kannada, and Hindi cinema.

He also received India’s first Oscar Award earlier this year in the best ‘Best Original Song’ category for the song ‘Nattu Naatu’ from the Telugu film ‘RRR.

In the group of winners was author and philanthropist Sudha Murty who was presented the Padma Bhushan for Social Work.

“A philanthropist, renowned author and Chairperson of Murty Foundation, she has initiated many projects in the fields of healthcare, education, art & culture, animal welfare and women’s empowerment.”

Moreover, former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Late Mulayam Singh Yadav, and medical professional Dilip Mahalanabis, were conferred the Padma Vibhushan.

Raveena was on cloud nine on receiving the award. This is how she reacted:

As for the country’s highest civilian award, the Bharat Ratna, it was last given to former President Pranab Mukherjee, Assamese singer-composer Bhupen Hazarika, and social activist Nanaji Deshmukh in 2019.

Congratulations to all the individuals who received the prestigious award.

📣 Storypick is now on Telegram! Click here to join our channel (@storypick) and never miss another great story.