Following Elections, Canadian Parliament Has More Sikh MPs Than The Lok Sabha

The General Election results have been declared in Canada and Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s Liberal Party has secured 157 seats out of 338 in the House of Commons. Since the single largest party failed to secure a majority in Parliament (170 seats), they will have to form a minority government with the support of other parties.

According to Times Now News, one of these is the New Democratic Party (NDP) headed by Sikh lawyer and politician Jagmeet Singh.

Interestingly, apart from Jagmeet Singh who won a seat from British Columbia province, 17 other Sikh members (a total of 18) were elected by voters – 13 from the Liberal Party and 4 from the Conservative Party.

Harjit Singh Sajjan, Randeep Singh Sarai and Sukh Dhaliwal won from British Columbia; Navdeep Singh Bains, Gagan Sikand, Rameshwar Singh Sangha, Maninder Singh Sidhu, Kamal Khera, Ruby Sahota, Sonia Sidhu, Bardish Chagger, Raj Saini and Bob Saroya won from Ontario; Tim Singh Uppal, Jasraj Singh Hallan and Jag Sahota won from Alberta and Anju Dhillon won from Quebec.

📣 Follow Storypick on Instagram! Click here to follow @story.pick

In comparison, Lok Sabha has 13 Sikh MPs 10 of whom have been elected from the state of Punjab. According to The Times of India, in both countries, Sikhs represent 2% of the total population.

This statistic makes us wonder if the community is under-represented in Indian politics. What’s your opinion?

Cover Image Source

📣 Storypick is now on Telegram! Click here to join our channel (@storypick) and never miss another great story.