National Film Awards 2018 Honour Sridevi With Best Actress, Newton Wins Best Film

It’s that time of the year when the country’s most prominent and prestigious film awards are announced—The National Film Awards.

A special jury appointed by the government selects the winners. This year, the jury is being headed by director Shekhar Kapur.

Other members of this esteemed jury include Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob, screenwriter Rumi Jaffrey, actress Gautami Tadimalla, director P Sheshadri, Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Ranjit Das, Rajesh Mapuskar, and Tripurari Sharma.

The announcement of the 65th National Film Awards was held at PIB Conference Room, Shastri Bhawan in New Delhi today. And amongst the winners, was late actress Sridevi, who won the Best Actress award for Mom.


Another veteran actor who isn’t amongst us anymore, the late Vinod Khanna, was honoured with the Dadasaheb Phalke award.

The Rajkummar Rao-starrer Newton bagged the award for the best Hindi film.

A Special Mention Award was also in store for actor Pankaj Tripathi, who played Assistant Commadant Aatma Singh in the film.

Image Courtesy: Eros International

No surprises in the fact that S S Rajamouli’s magnum opus Baahubali 2: The Conclusion was named ‘The Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment’!

That’s another feather in the already loaded cap of this blockbuster hit! But wait, that’s not it! Baahubali 2 even bagged the award for Best Special Effects!

A few other noteworthy wins included A R Rehman’s double whammy of Best Background Score for Mom and Best Music Direction for Kaatru Veliyidai. Toilet-Ek Prem Katha bagged the award for best choreography by Ganesh Acharya. The supremely talented Divya Dutta too was named the Best Supporting Actress for her movie Irada.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Best Educational Film: The Girls We Were and The Women We Are

Best Adventure Film: Ladakh Chale Rickshaw Waale.

Best Investigative Film: 1984 When The Sun Did Not Rise

Best Animation Film: Fish Curry, Maachar Jhol

Special Jury Award: The Old Man, Monday

Best Short Film Fiction: Maiyat

Best Film On Family Values: Happy Birthday

Best Direction: Pravash Ch Nivandan, Nagraj Manule

Best Cinematography: Eye Test, Don

Best Critic On Cinema Award: Giridhar Jha, Special Mention to Sunil Mishra

Special Mention Awards: Marathi Film- Morkhya, Oriya Film- Hello Mirror, Parvathy, Take Off, Pankaj Tripathi, Newton

Best Ladhaki Film: Walking With The Wind

Best Jasari Film: Sinjar

Best Tulu Film: Paddayi

Best Odiya Film: Hello Arsi

Best Marathi Film: Kachcha Limbu

Best Malayalam Film: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

Best Kannada Film: Hebbettu Ramakka

Best Hindi Film: Newton

Best Bengali Film: Mayurakshi

Best Assamese Film: Ishu

Best Tamil Film: To Let

Best Telugu Film: The Ghazi Attack

Best Gujarati Film: Dhh

Best Action Direction: Baahubali: The Conclusion

Best Choreography: Toilet-Ek Prem Katha (Gori tu lath maar) – Ganesh Acharya

Best Special Effects: Baahubali: The Conclusion (Baahubali 2)

Special Mention: Nagarkirtan

Best Background Score: AR Rahman, MOM

Best Lyrics: Muthuratna, March 22

Best Music Direction and Songs: AR Rahman, Katru Veliyidai

Best Makeup Artist: Nagarkirtan, Ram Rajak

Best Costume: Nagarkirtan, Govinda Mandal

Best Production Design: Take Off, Santhosh Raman

Best Editing: Village Rockstar, Rima Das

Best Sound Design: Walking With The Wind, Sanath George and Justin Jose

Best Audiography: Village Rockstar, Mallika Das

Best Original Screenplay: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

Best Adapted Screenplay: Bhayanakam

Best Cinematography: Bhayanakam

Best Supporting Actor: Fahad Fazil (Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum)

Best Supporting Actress: Divya Dutta (Irada)

Best Playback Singer(Female): Sasha Trupati (Vaan)

Best Playback Singer (Male): Yesudas

Best Child Artist: Bhanita Das (Village Rockstars)

Best Actor: Ridhi Sen (Nagarkirtan)

Best Actress: Sridevi (MOM)

Best Director: Jayaraj (Bhayanakam)

Best Children’s Film: Mhorkya

Best Film on Environment Conservation: Irada

Best Film on Social Issues: Aalorukkam

Best Popular Film: Baahubali: The Conclusion

Nargis Dutt Award on National Integration: Dhappa

Dadasaheb Phalke Award: Vinod Khanna

Indira Gandhi Award For Best Debut Director: Pampally (Sinjar)

Best Feature Film: Village Rockstar (Assamese)

As is the tradition each year, the National Film Awards are announced at an earlier date and the presentation ceremony is held later. This year too, on May 3rd, President Ram Nath Kovind will be presenting the awards in New Delhi. The prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke award is also given out in the same ceremony.

And shall we say, this is one illustrious list of winners! Congratulations!