Marvel’s Phase 4 To Release 10 Movies & Series Including Angelina Jolie’s Eternals!

It took the team of our favorite superheroes 22 movies, tremendous efforts, and an awful lot of sacrifices, to finally beat the MCU’s Big Bad – Thanos. Ever since Avengers: Endgame, fans of the MCU were at the edge of their seats to know what would the new universe look like, once the Mad Titan is ultimately defeated. And this weekend the wait came to an oddly satisfying end.

Marvel revealed not 1, not 2… but the entire line-up that they have planned out in a span of just 2 years. The line-up not only includes movies, but also the spin-off series that would take to small screens. The revelation happened at the San Diego Comic-Con on July 20th, 2019.

Image source

So without any further delay, let’s dive into the MCU Phase 4, that introduces a whole new set of characters along with building up on the ones we have.

Going in movies first, we have:

Black Widow (releasing on May 1st 2020)

Phase 4 will commence with the most awaited origin story of Natasha Romanova and her mantle of Black Widow. The movie casts Scarlett Johansson in the title role and Florence Pugh as her rival. The movie also hosts Stranger Things’ favorite dad, David Harbour.

Eternals (releasing on November 6th 2020)

The introduction of Captain Marvel in Phase 3 hinted in the direction of a more cosmic plotline of the Marvel series – and that is Eternals. While the story is still kept quite under the rug, the casting is out with the likes of Angelina Jolie, Robb Stark fame Richard Madden and Salma Hayek.

Shang-Chi: The Legend Of The Ten Rings (releasing on February 12th 2021)

While rumor mill had churned out Shang-Chi to be in works for quite some time, it’s nice to see the first Asian superhero for the title role in MCU. Although, Shang-Chi hasn’t yet been foreshadowed in the MCU, the ‘Ten Rings’ Organization had silently played recurring threats to Avengers. Played by Canadian actor, Simu Liu, Shang-Chi is something many comic-book fans are looking forward to.

Doctor Strange In The Multiverse Of Madness (releasing on May 7th 2021)

The confirmation of Doctor Strange 2 finally came in and with a title that we absolutely love. While Sorcerer Supreme established his potential in the Infinity Saga of the MCU, this time, we’ll be traversing with him in much darker realms of realities. The director of the sequel, Scott Derrickson, known for his amazing work at horror with the likes of ‘Sinister’ and ‘The Exorcism of Emily Rose’, has claimed that Doctor Strange 2 is going to be MCU’s first horror movie.

Benedict Cumberbatch will continue to take up the title role followed by Benedict Wong as Wong and Elizabeth Olsen as Scarlet Witch, who’d be crossing over from her own TV series ‘WandaVision’.

Thor: Love And Thunder (releasing on November 5th 2021)

Thor: Ragnarok director, Taika Waititi will continue to work with Thor in the 4th movie of the character. Natalie Portman will actively rejoin the MCU as Jane Foster, who finally wears the mantle of Female Thor – a much awaited comic-book character.

P.S. – This is the first movie to break Marvel’s rule of trilogy, with this being the 4th part for Thor’s story line.

Disney+ TV Shows

On the TV series’ front, the first one to hit the screens is WandaVision. With Disney’s streaming service now effective, some of the MCU action will be happening on the small screen that will be associated with the big screen. With Elizabeth Olsen leading the show as Scarlet Witch and crossing over to work with Doctor Strange, this would be an interesting venture to enjoy.

Followed by WandaVision would be our all time fav anti-hero Loki and Hawkeye in their individual TV shows. Along with it, it will be fun to see Sam to take up the shield of Captain America along with the Winter Soldier in “The Falcon and The Winter Soldier.”

Marvel will also be releasing its first animated take on the MCU in the show “What If…?” Inspired by the Marvel Comic’s property of the same name, “What If…?” will be ‘watching over’ the infinite Multiverses and their multiple realities. The narration would be that of a Watcher (briefly shown in Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2), whose job is to watch over all the possible realities. The narration will be voiced by Jeffrey Wright.

Along with these confirmed titles, The movies like Blade, Black Panther 2, Fantastic Four and Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 were also told to be in progress, without confirming thier release. However, Phase 4 is the first time when an MCU line-up has been revealed to have no ‘Avengers’ movie confirmed.

After the revelation, the geek in me just cannot contain the excitement of the Phase 4 and I’m pretty sure that it’s the case with all the Marvel fans around the world.

Cover Image: Source