Pakistan Batsman Fakhar Zaman’s Controversial Run Out Sparks Debate Online

South Africa and Pakistan are currently playing a three-match ODI series as part of the 2020-23 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. The series got tied 1-1 yesterday after Team SA won in Johannesburg. However, cricket fans have been discussing one particular dismissal and debating whether it was against the ‘spirit of the game’.

According to HT, Pakistan batsman Fakhar Zaman was had score 192 runs and hit the ball to long-off. South Africa wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock seemed to gesture as if the ball was being thrown towards the non-striker end which made Zaman slow down. However, the ball hit the stumps at his end and he was declared run out.

Several people thought that the wicketkeeper’s actions were against MCC’s Law 41.5.1. Marylebone Cricket Club tweeted the details of the law saying, “It is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball”

Shoaib Akhtar also admitted that though it wasn’t cheating, it left a bad taste in the mouth.

On the other side of the scale, cricket enthusiasts said that MS Dhoni had also done the same earlier and it was the batsman’s fault for not being vigilant enough. Zaman himself said, “The fault was mine as I was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf at the other end as I felt he’d started off a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble. The rest is up to the match referee, but I don’t think it’s Quinton’s fault.”

What do you think of the run-out? Tell us.

Cover Image Source

Like what you're reading? Follow Storypick on Google News and Instagram!