(Video – Star Sports) pic.twitter.com/LL8WIpqaBH
— Khurram Siddiquee (@imKhurram12) 16 March 2017
What happened there?
That’s what everyone said along with ROFLing hard. Just look at the umpire in this video uploaded by Khurram Siddiquee.
So here’s what actually happened.
It was the 80th over of first day of the third test match between India and Australia at Ranchi. Aussie captain, Steven Smith was batting and our very own Sir Ravindra Jadeja had the ball. As it happens ‘a lot’ with sir’s bowling, the ball took an unexpected turn and caught Smith off guard as the ball got stuck inside his pads. Meanwhile, Wriddhiman Saha saw this as an opportunity to dismiss the Aussie captain and tried taking the ball out which ultimately resulted in both of them tumbling on the ground.
Now whether or not that was appeal-worthy is a matter of debate but it certainly made the already interesting series of cricket even more fun.
P.S- Watched it almost fifty times now and I still can’t stop laughing.